1 Year…100 Movies, #95: THE LAST PICTURE SHOW (1971)

the_last_picture_show-182184225-large
This is a film that I don’t know too much about either. I don’t even know why it’s supposed to be great. What I do know is that it stars a very young Jeff Bridges (you know when he was super hot) and, after reading the cast list, a young Cybil Shepard as well. Also, it’s completely in black and white — you know, like that movie Nebraska was a couple of years ago. Other than that, a bitch knows nothing. Hopefully, I’ll like it. If not, oh well, I’m sure I’ll be able to figure out why it’s at #95.

 

Basic Premise of the Film: There’s two friends: Sonny and Duane. They live in a small town in Texas. Follows them through their senior year high school. Duane’s girlfriend, Jacey, is a life ruiner, and goes from one friend to the other. Pretty much we see Sonny and Duane go from boys to men.

 

I’m gonna come out and say it: my least favorite part of this film was Jacey.  She was dating Jeff Bridges, kinda sorta broke up with him, was interested in this other dude (Bobby) who wouldn’t bang her until she lost her virginity, got back with Jeff Bridges so they could bang and then broke up with him…AGAIN. OVER THE PHONE. Rude, much?!?! Then the guy she really wanted to hookup with is married by the time she’s bangable, so her mom tells her to try and get with Sonny. BISH, WHAT!? Uggh. I couldn’t stand her. Her motive honestly was to be the talk of the town. She even hooked up with her mom’s side dude. She made no sense to me.

 

BUT the rest of the storylines were good. Cloris Leachman gave a great performance — so much so that she won an Oscar for it. My biggest problem was that I had trouble keeping up with the passing of time. It was hard to tell when either a few weeks or a month or two had gone by. I mean, it wasn’t no Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy (which was the worst when it came to keeping track of when we were in the past/present), but it was on it’s way there. Like I told my husband when he asked how the movie was: it wasn’t boring, but it wasn’t my kind of movie. I love movies, but this is not one that I’ll rush to watch again.I saw how and why it’s so acclaimed and won/was nominated for awards, but for me, it was okay. Not the first or the last time I will think this as I make it further up the lsit. Out of the six films I’ve gone through so far, this is the fourth film that was only introduced to the list with the 2007 update. In the next update it might just be off the list altogether, but I guess we will have to wait until next year to see how that pans out.

 

I viewed this movie hosted online. Surprisingly, not ad infested like other sites. CLICK HERE to watch. You can also watch it by renting it on YouTube for $2.99.

 

And now, for funsies..

 

While I was reading about how the movie was initially received (to critical acclaim like most of the films on this list) I just so happened to find out that there was a SEQUEL made to this movie in the 1990s. SAY WHAAAAT!? It’s called Texasville and takes place 34 years after the events of Last Picture Show. All the main casts pretty much comes back. It’s supposed to be just okay (according to Wikipedia). Here’s the trailer for that sequel in case anyone was wondering what it’s about. If anyone has seen it, let me know how it is…for a friend.

 

 

 

As always leave your thoughts, questions and opinions for me in the comments.

Leave a comment