1 Year…100 Films, #88: BRINGING UP BABY (1938)

poster20-20bringing20up20baby_02

“Now it isn’t that I don’t like you, Susan, because, after all, in moments of quiet, I’m strangely drawn toward you, but – well, there haven’t been any quiet moments.” – David Huxley

Well, guys, we’re definitely making progress on the list as of late since I’m running a bit behind schedule. Now, I’ve seen my share of Cary Grant films but I have yet to see a single Katherine Hepburn movie so I was pretty excited about this one. Not as excited as I was for “Swing Time” but still excited.

Basic Premise of the Film: Zoologist David is trying to land a million dollar grant as well as get married to his beloved. He meets Susan and crazy shenanigans ensue. A leopard named Baby is involved.

After viewing, I can see why this movie was a “flop” when it first opened — the plot overall is a bit silly. However, I can understand why this movie is now considered a classic. Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn are simply wonderful and funny in this film. I know I said that the plot is silly, but sometimes silly and simple is what the people really need. If any other two actors would have been casts as the leads I don’t think I’d be writing about this movie right now. But the fact that we have to of film’s greatest screen legends makes this film all the better. On that list of AFI’s “50 Greatest American Screen Legends,” Cary Grant is #2 (on the male list) and Katherine Hepburn is #1 (on the women’s list) so you know it’s good. I did however like the actual “baby” in the movie. Low-key made me want a pet leopard — but one that’s been trained though. I don’t have much else to comment on except that the two leads had great chemistry together so it makes sense why they made several films together.

When the list was first made in 1998 this film as ranked at 97, at the 10 year update it got bumped up to it’s current position. Obviously it’s more significant because it’s timeless and is apparently an OG Rom-Com before people even realized what a rom-com was. I’m guessing at the next update we should expect this movie to be a few spots higher. We shall see…

I viewed this film on a hosted site. CLICK HERE to watch. Just a reminder, a lot of these websites that host movies online have pop-ads if you click on play so be sure to close these ads asap or set up your pop-up ad blocker. 

And now, for fun, here’s the original trailer for the film:

Leave a comment